Door Knob Coat Rack

I got tired of all of the coats and hoodies on the back of chairs or never quite making it to the closet so this was good fit for our mud room. My in-laws made one of these for their entry way a while ago and I always thought it was a great idea.

When you are looking for the door knobs your best bet is getting for a great deal on eBay or running across them at yard sales. Every flea market and antique store wanted to sell them to me at architectural salvage prices.

I was making a matching set (Key Rack, Coat Rack and Hat Rack) so I used the same molding and bead board for each. This turns out very nice on just about any type of wood.

You need to measure the area you want to install the key rack and cut the wood to size (TIP: Cut a piece of cardboard to size and thumb tack it to the wall just to be sure you are happy with the size).

I didn’t have any older wood at the time so I used bead board and a thin molding I liked. After I cut the wood to size I attached the molding to the board with glue and finishing nails. I set the nail into the details to hide them. I sanded the edges of the board to soften the appearance.

I always dry fit before I get too far. This is easier than you may think. It just requires a little division. In my case I used 4 knobs. So I measured the length of my board (let’s just say it was 10”) and divided by 5. Then I made a pencil mark every 2”. BAMO!! All the knobs were evenly spaced.

Now I got the door knobs ready for a dry fit. Some of them had a shaft that I removed. It is much easier to get bolts the right size rather than to cut the shafts to size. Different knobs needed different sizes bolts. Once I got this figured out I drilled the holes to diameter of the bolts. I made it a tight enough fit that I needed to lightly hammer them into the wood. I had dry fit the knobs; I was happy and removed them for painting.

It is time to paint, stain, decoupage or whatever makes you happy. I used green craft paint. After that dried I added a second coat of white craft paint. Once that was dry I sanded off some of the white to get a weathered look.

With the paint dry I attached the back plates then the door knob back plates. Insert the bolts and epoxy them to the knobs.

I waited a full day for the epoxy to cure.

For hanging the coat rack I chose to screw it into the wall. I drilled out holes deep enough to insert screw hole plugs afterwards. (TIP: Measure the thickness of the wood and only drill half way through). Once hung and the plugs were inserted, I used the same craft paint and some artist brushes to make the plugs match the finish.

Leave a Reply

