Sewing Table Upcycled into a Pedestal Sink

We wanted to finish off our powder-room with a unique vanity. After scrolling through Pinterest Carrie found something she really liked. She wanted me to find an old sewing table and work it into a pedestal sink.

I looked around on Facebook yard sale groups and a few yard sale apps and I found one. It was in really bad shape for $20. When I found it I was thinking that I could just use the base and see if I can find something creative as a top. I wanted to give the wood a chance first and I am glad I did. I was able to save the majority of it, after 2 cans of refinisher and some interesting nail placement.

We are very happy with the way it turned out. When I bought it the owner told me that it was a family piece but there wasn’t enough room for it. So it ended up in storage and that is how it got in such terrible shape. I thought she might want to see what I did with it so I shared a picture with her a few days ago. She was grateful that it has a new life and it will be enjoyed by my family for many years to come.

Now I have to repair and paint the wall from removing the old sink. I also need to figure out what to do with the old sewing machine. That thing is heavy!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

