Vintage Drawer Bookcase

I honestly don’t know why I didn’t think of this earlier. A while ago I turned a dresser in a wardrobe and I ended up with these drawers left over. So since then I have been tripping over them in my basement. So I stacked them against a wall so I didn’t break my neck. As I stacked them I arranged them biggest to smallest, bottom to top, as one does when stacking. Then I just shook my head in disbelief that I didn’t do this a while ago.

This is fairly simple project. Remove the hardware, sand and paint. Once the paint is cured (4 to 7 days depending on humidity) permanently assemble. To assemble them I used a brad nailer. If you don’t have one you could easily use finishing nails. Fill in the holes with putty, light sand and touch up the paint.

For this I made my own “chalky paint”. I have about a half of a bag of unsanded-grout left over from remodeling my laundry room anyway. I mixed 2 tablespoons of the grout with just enough water to dissolve it. Then I add about a cup of paint I had left over from other projects. The stenciling paint was picked up from a craft store along with the stencils. I kept the original hardware, so I picked a stenciling paint that was close to the color.

See how simple that was?

Leave a Reply

